CFP National Championship 2018

CFP National Championship 2018 Live Stream Online,An SEC team will claim the national title for the ninth time in the past 12 seasons as conference mates Georgia and Alabama meet in Monday’s College Football Playoff championship at Atlanta. Here’s what you need to know.

CFP National Championship 2018 Live

Time: 8 p.m. ET
Location: Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta
Streaming: Watch ESPN

CFP National Championship 2018

Minkah Fitzpatrick’s Alabama Crimson Tide play Nick Chubb’s Georgia Bulldogs in the CFP National Championship tonight (Monday, Jan. 8) at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga. It is an all-Southeastern Conference final.

CFP National Championship 2018

Alabama (12-1) is coached by legendary Nick Saban; Georgia (13-1), by Saban’s former assistant, Kirby Smart.

Fitzpatrick, a junior defensive back, is an elite prospect who has the full attention of Cleveland Browns fans. He said he will be ready for the Georgia game after injuring a kidney in a semifinal victory over Clemson last week. Chubb, a senior running back, has rushed for 1,320 yards and 15 touchdowns this season.

The CFP National Championship caps “bowl season,” which began in mid-December. Some maintain that there are too many bowls (2017-18: 41, including national championship game). I do not. I cannot get enough of college football, in general, and even nondescript bowls can produce notable accomplishments by individual and team.

For the second year in a row, I picked bowl games against the spread — entertainment purposes only, of course. It better be EPO because, for as much as I love college football, I do not pretend to be an “expert.” Leave that to the likes of Phil Steele. (Last year, I struggled. I rallied late but finished below .500.)

2018 National Championship game preview for the College Football Playoff final between Alabama-Georgia

It will be an All-SEC battle for the championship game as No. 3 Georgia takes on No. 4 Alabama. The game has a number of intriguing subplots.

For one, the game will match Nick Saban against his former defensive coordinator in Kirby Smart. The now Georgia coach worked with Saban at Alabama from 2008-15. Saban has never lost to one of his former assistants, as the Alabama coach is 11-0 in such games. And each one of those games has been at least a 14-point Alabama victory.

The Crimson Tide and Bulldogs took two very different paths to get here. Both teams got off to great starts but both suffered regular season losses to Auburn. Georgia picked wins over Notre Dame and Mississippi State and cruised to big wins in every game, sans the Auburn loss. But the Bulldogs got their revenge in the SEC Championship game, beating Auburn 28-7. Then Georgia rallied back to beat Oklahoma in a thrilling, double overtime contest in the Rose Bowl.

The Bulldogs will be looking to win their first national title since 1980, back when Herschel Walker was carrying the load for the Bulldogs. This year’s Georgia team is led by its running backs in Nick Chubb and Sony Michel, who have both rushed for over 1,000 yards and 15 touchdowns on the season. At quarterback, the Bulldogs bring in Jake Fromm. The Georgia freshman will look to do something that Alabama starter Jalen Hurts could not do a year ago and that is win a national title as a true freshman, something that has only been done once.

Alabama meanwhile dropped its final game of the regualr season and had to sweat out whether it would make it into the playoff over Ohio State who won the Big Ten. The Crimson Tide did and then thoroughly dominated the No. 1 ranked, and defending national champs, Clemson. The Tigers had their worst offensive output of the season, as they mustered just 6 points against a now healthy and stout Alabama defense.

The last time two teams from the same conference met in the national title game was back in 2011-12, when Alabama took down LSU in the Sugar Bowl. Alabama will be looking to win its 5th title since Saban took over the program in 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *